First awarded in 2020, the Civility in Politics Awards are returning for a second year to shine a spotlight on those in politics who behave with courtesy and decency to one another.

In the past few years, Britain has become dangerously characterised by growing divisions. Remainers and Brexiteers alike think their own side is more honest, open-minded and intelligent. As hostility spills over into other areas of life, these divisions become toxic.

The annual awards are judged in four categories and are given to political figures who demonstrate different aspects of civility:

Politician of the Year’ - open to people who hold elected office.

Bridge-Builders of the Year’ - open to two or more people who have worked across divides.

Campaigner of the Year’ - open to individuals and organisations who are not elected.

New for this year’s awards - Daniel Stevenson award- which is open to nominations from politicians to celebrate the contributions of an elected politician in a different party to themselves.

Anyone wishing to make a nomination can do so using the Civility in Politics Awards nomination form. A shortlist will be announced in January, along with an award ceremony in January 2022.

Launching the awards, the Steering Group said:
“We came together as a cross party group to create reward and acclaim for thoughtful, reflective public debate that reaches across the aisle and seeks to improve civil discourse. In an environment where belligerent tribalism could triumph, we believe that politicians have a particular responsibility to resist that”

The winner of ‘Politician of the Year’ will receive a £3000 prize for them to donate to a charity within their constituency. In 2020, the judges gave the award jointly to Steve Baker and Ken Clarke.

The Civility in Politics Awards Steering Group and Judges come from a cross (and no) party background, with a broad range of views on Brexit both during the referendum and since. They, and all the judges, are donating their time in kind.