A panel of distinguished judges and advisers from across the political spectrum were brought together to create the shortlists from the candidates nominated. The shortlists are:

1: Politician of the Year

  • Alison Thewliss (SNP MP)
  • Andrea Leadsom (Conservative MP)
  • Catherine West (Labour MP)
  • David Melding (Conservative AM)
  • Floella Benjamin (Liberal Democrat peer)
  • Ken Clarke (Conservative MP)
  • Kit Malthouse (Conservative MP)
  • Nicholas Pope (Councillor, Tunbridge Wells Alliance)
  • Norman Lamb (Liberal Democrat MP)
  • Rory Stewart (Independent MP)
  • Steve Baker (Conservative MP)

2: Co-operation of the Year

  • George Freeman and Baroness Sally Morgan (Big Tent Ideas Festival)
  • Iain Dale and Jacqui Smith (For The Many podcast) 

3: Influencer of the Year 

  • Anand Menon (Director, UK in a Changing Europe)
  • Dylan Quinn (Founder, We Deserve Better campaign)
  • Jo Cox Foundation 
  • John Smith Centre for Public Service
  • Nigel Smith (Scottish campaigner – posthumous)
  • Reclaim project
  • Sunder Katwala (Director, British Future)

4. Best parody account

  • Simon Hedges (campaigner)*

*New category created to reflect the best parody account. Fair play, Simon. 

You can find out more about the awards on our FAQ page.