Judges and Steering Group

The judges and Steering Group comes from a cross (and no) party background and have taken a broad range of views on Brexit, during the referendum and since. Everyone involved is donating their time in kind.


  • Norman Lamb – Former Chair of the Science and Technology Select Committee and Liberal Democrat MP for North Norfolk (2001 – 2017)
  • Gawain Towler – Director of Communications, Brexit Party
  • Lord Stewart Wood – Labour Peer, Special Adviser to Gordon Brown (2007 – 2010), Fellow in practice, Blavatnik School of Government, Oxford
  • Baron Willetts – Conservative Member of the House of Lords. Previously MP for Havant (1997 – 2015) and Minister for Science and Innovation (2010 -14).
  • Sue Tibballs OBE – CEO Sheila McKechnie Foundation
  • Natascha Engel – Labour MP for NE Derbyshire (2005 -17), Deputy Speaker of the House of Commons (2015 – 17)
  • Catherine Anderson – CEO Jo Cox Foundation
  • Delyth Jewell AM – Plaid Cymru Assembly Member for South Wales East (2019 – )
  • Baroness Sayeeda Warsi – Conservative Peer, Former Government Minister
  • Isabel Hardman – Assistant Editor, The Spectator, author ‘Why We Get the Wrong Politicians’
  • Quintin Oliver – Founder Stratagem International, Campaign Manager for the Yes Campaign in the Good Friday/Belfast Agreement.
  • Sarah Wollaston – Former MP for Totnes, Chair of the Liaison and Health Select Committees.
  • Stephen Gethins – Former SNP MP for North East Fife
  • Shailesh Vara – Conservative MP for North West Cambridgeshire. Former Government Minister
  • Helen Mayer – Communications Director #StandUp4Brexit, Head of Development Vote Leave (2015 -16)
  • Alison Goldsworthy – CEO The Depolarization Project, Vice Chair Joseph Rowntree Reform Trust. Deputy Chair Liberal Democrats (2011 -14)
  • Michael Crick – Broadcaster, journalist and author. Previously Political Editor, Newsnight and Political Correspondent Channel 4 News

Steering Group:

A sub section of the judging panel also act as a steering committee for the awards they are; Stewart Wood, Helen Mayer, Ali Goldsworthy, Natascha Engel and Michael Crick.